monday monday

Some weekends are designed for nothing more than eating out, reading books, and indulging with the people that make you happy. This was one of them.

Last night, my friends and I decided that we deserve a good meal out. One, a teacher, just said goodbye to her boyfriend. He will be gone for the next four months :-(. The other, is leaving to return home to Ireland where he was offered a job in cancer research. A third, my constant companion, Brittany, deserves a good meal out every night of the week because she is a gem. And then there’s me, and I just wanted to friggin go out – judge.

We went here and had a grand ole time.

There was a tad too many bottles of this

I am embarrassed to write about my dinner experience.

I ordered something off the menu fully convinced it was pork.

It was not pork.

Those that know me know that I have quite the aversion to fish. So, going forward, note to self (and all) that branzino is a straight up fish on your plate, eyes and everything. I gagged, pouted, and finally ordered my dinner.

Banana Nutella gelato – It’s what’s for dinner.

I took the restaurant’s motto to heart.

After dinner I spent some time with my boyfriend(s)





Paul Giamatti? Go with it.

Only this guy has my heart.

Today was also quite a stellar day of indulgence.

Lunch with a friend here uber yum.

Why the hell not? We don’t have to work today.



Terrified by the thought of now ordering anything with fish or meat I went with the vegetarian option. ‘Twas a delicious feast of roasted fennel, braised greens, and warm cannellini bean puree on a rosemary focaccia. Definitely something repeatable at home.

Key lime pie was waiting for me when I got back from the bathroom. Not my choice, but fantastic nonetheless and who am I to turn down pie?

After lunch I dropped my friend off and channeled my inner history nerd. Hoping to visit one of the neat old estates in the area I drove over only to discover that it was closed. I should have known as it falls in line with the rest of my weekend, but I made the most of it and creeped around in estate in my jeep instead.





Such a nice day out.

I suppose I better get my rump in gear or I will miss my spin class and my ice cream for dinner and pie for lunch will forever reside on my hips.

If you had the day off, how’d you spend it?

Smiles from,
Kelly

Ps. Today in history? Happy b-day Edgar Allan Poe. Ya big broken-hearted weirdo. I feel ya.

About mylifeissweet

I make ice cream, eat ice cream and then run. I love my yellow lab and look like my yellow lab, in Converse.
This entry was posted in ice cream, weekend. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to monday monday

  1. Trista says:

    You are delightful! What home did you try to visit? Maybe I can go with you one day in the spring?!

    • haha, thanks trista! it’s called Lyndhurst castle. It’s Jay Ghould’s (railroad robber barron from the gilded age) home. It’s beautiful and absolutely you can come down one day in the spring.

  2. briarrose says:

    Banana Nutella gelato…..is that heaven on a plate I see. 😉

  3. fooddreamer says:

    Glad you had such a nice long weekend with friends. But I do have to question the choice of Paul Giamatti!

Leave a Reply

