martin luther king weekend

Somewhere along the line I’ve mastered the art of pretending like there’s nothing wrong. There’s few things about myself that I am confident I do well, but smiling, talking to strangers, and maintaining pleasant small talk, that – that I do with ease. I have come to realize that the friendlier you are with people, the happier you’ll become with yourself. Strangers will help you realize the (for lack of a better word) the strangest things about yourself.

For example, like I do on most Sunday afternoons, I am parked in my usual chair, at my usual coffee shop, drinking my usual beverage. I can’t help but notice the woman seated to my left. She is reading a book entitled “Spontaneous Belief” while taking notes of the people who walk in and out of the shop. She makes an effort to offer her extra chair to those who cannot find a seat. She asks people their names and shakes their hands. We speak about how dreary the day is – she remarks that my hat brightens her day (I’m wearing a rainbow hat, it’s weird). But as we get back to our work, I notice that in the margins of her book she has written “I have been depressed my whole life.” I am floored not only at the bluntness of her statement but also at the clemency of her actions towards everyone she meets.

On this anniversary of Martin Luther King, I suppose it’s appropriate to consider the doctor’s dream. That people should be judged only by “the content of their character.” May we never fail to remember that one’s character is molded by those events, people, and emotions that they hold deep in their hearts. That often times we must be patient with the people who we encounter for we can never truly read their emotions. Furthermore, that we make every effort to live a life that we are proud of. That we take risks we can afford to take, that we help those in need, and that we remember to stop and be grateful. If you do nothing unexpected, nothing unexpected will ever happen to you.

The weekend has, in fact, been dreary. My credit card has been hacked, my phone was stolen, I got in a huge fight with my Dad, I fell off a chair in public, and my heart is just a wee bit broken. To counteract all that I’ve surrounded myself with the things that I cherish most…cookies

Monster Cookies

Adapted from ms. Paula

Dont play with your food.



1/4 cup raisins, optional
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
1/2 cup multi-colored chocolate candies
1 stick butter, softened
1 12-ounce jar creamy peanut butter
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (1/4 if you’re using Madagascar vanilla)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup granulated sugar
1 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
3 eggs
2 teaspoon baking soda
3 1/2 cup quick-cooking oatmeal (not instant)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper or nonstick baking mats.
In a very large mixing bowl, combine the eggs and sugars. Mix well. Add the salt, vanilla, peanut butter, and butter. Mix well. Stir in the chocolate candies, chocolate chips, raisins, if using, baking soda, and oatmeal. Drop by tablespoons 2 inches apart onto the prepared cookie sheets.
Bake for 8-10 minutes. Do not overbake (duh).

Enjoy your weekend!

About mylifeissweet

I make ice cream, eat ice cream and then run. I love my yellow lab and look like my yellow lab, in Converse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

