one for the books

what an amazing first weekend in nyc. I couldn’t be happier with life right now. I feel like my stars must have lined up, i must have done something right, or my hard work is finally paying off. Whatever it is – I am so grateful for my blessings.

I have a family who loves me unconditionally
I have friends who I swear are angels
I have the opportunity to live life the way I’ve always dreamed.
In short, life is good.

My best friend from college came to visit me and we had a weekend to remember. I left work early on Friday and hit the gym for a quick two mile run. After I hopped on the subway to pick Lauren up from Penn Station. We were so tired from two long days and truly just wanted to veg out befor a night on the town. We picked up some Amy’s, had a glass of red and got ready for a great night

Isn’t Lauren gorgeous? Her heart is even prettier (if possible)

We went to this swanky club on the west side and felt very Sex in the City. “Two cosmos, please”

Saturday morning was beautiful. We walked to Grand Central and took the train back home for family bbq. Good eats and good times. Saturday night we were still so exhausted from the night before and all the walking we had been doing that we just kept it simple. By keeping it simple, I mean to say that sooommeeooneee had the best idea ever.

Ice cream, anyone?


yup. yup yup yupyup


then that happened

sunday morning we woke up with an ice cream hangover, checked out the closest church for 9:30 am mass and continued our walking excursion. On the cab ride back to penn station tonight, Lauren and I calculated just how much we walked. We looked up that 20 city blocks equal one mile and, according to our numbers, we walked 21 miles. 21! Sundae well deserved, no?
The rest of the day was spent walking down 5th avenue, grabbing a salad from Dean & Deluca , checking out St. Pat’s, scoping (but not scoopng) Donald Trump’s ice cream parlor, tanning in Central Park and having some celebratory Blue Moons at a local BBQ joint.

This morning we slept in and woke up with one thing on our minds. cupcakes. My passion for ice cream is mirrored only by Lauren’s love for baking. On our way to cupcakes we stopped at the Met. (Shouldn’t it be the other way around?). The Met was beautiful, as always, I cant believe how lucky I am to have such a cultural edifice in my backyard. OR! having my backyard be central park 😀 On the way to the met I discovered some icreadible places in the area. Recognize these anyone?



The “To-Eat” list is growing exponentially. And I am very okay with that. On to the Met…


New boyfriend.
Goof.
Lauren trying to decide how this could possibly be a headdress
Hey Ben! Want some ice cream?
Awesome Picasso exhibit
Okay on to the good stuff…
We split a Knish along the walk (mostly because neither one of us knew what a Knish was and just loved saying Knish)
Funny mime




And that was my amazing weekend. Back to reality tomorrow. That’s okay though, reality is great too. Gotta work if you want to have fun.

What’s you favorite way to spend a weekend with a friend?

Here’s one for ya…(if you’ve never listened to Ryan Adams, you must stop everything and fall in love…)

Hope you all had a great fourth of july weekend!!

Smiles from,
Kelly

About mylifeissweet

I make ice cream, eat ice cream and then run. I love my yellow lab and look like my yellow lab, in Converse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to one for the books

  1. Trista says:

    Glad you had a wonderful time with Lauren!

  2. So jealous that you went to Magnolia’s. That’s all I can say.

  3. Sounds like a great weekend!! 🙂 I’ve only gone to Serendipity once, but it was amazing! And I love how easy it is to add up the miles walking through NYC.

    Also — I see that you’re wearing a Brown sweatshirt in your picture. Are you from RI…or did you go to Brown?

  4. Your post was so positive I couldn’t help but smile as I read it. Its great to see people who love life and appreciate everything they have. Good for you! Great pics from the weekend. Looks like it must have been fun!

  5. That Ryan Adams song is one of my all time favorites!

Leave a Reply

