moving to the big apple but certainly not eating one tonight…

hey there 😉

What an exciting past few weeks. Life moves quickly when you’re having fun, huh? Tomorrow is a very big day for me. I am moving out of the house I grew up in and into my first apartment…in New York City! I am so very excited.


Some members of the family are less exciting then others.

I’ve been having the strangest emotions about moving. To be honest, I always thought I would be making “the big move” with a boyfriend or, at the very least, a best friend. Instead, I’m going all by myself. This excites and terrifies me all at the same time. I have come to realize that I do enjoy spending time alone. I had two serious boyfriends in college and while I love(d) them both dearly I don’t think I completed the necessary soul searching during my college years. I’m learning, now, that I must pursue my passions for writing, food, and love in order to life my best life.

Considering I left all of my packing until the night before (surprise?)…it’s going to be a very long night.

Ben Franklin bear is very excited to move to the big apple – but he hates packing! I wonder where he got that from 😉

(sidenote: Ben Franklin bear, and his copy of the declaration of independence, go everywhere with me. When I was a young girl, ever summer my grandmother and great aunt joan would take me on a “historical vacation” We went to Salem, Plymouth, Mystic…you name it. Our last vacation before my aunt joan died of lung cancer was to Philadelphia – where I found Ben. We’ve been best friends ever since)

…to further procrastinate packing, I decided it would be a good idea to make one final batch of ice cream for mom and pops. They’ve come to expect a new flavor every Friday – it’s probably a good idea for their wasteline and my pocket that I cut back my ice cream production! Tonight I made “Thin Mint Mocha”…

Thats Eric, my beloved ice cream maker.

The finished product


Everyone HATED it 😉

Here’s what you’ll need…

2 cups heavy whipping cream
1 cup milk (i use whole)
3/4 cup sugar
4 tsp. of unsweetened cocoa powder (i like good ole’ fashioned Hershey’s)
2 heaping tbsps of freeze dried instant coffee
2 lg eggs
1 box Girl Scout thin mints (or chocolate mint wafter of your choice)

1. Blend cream, milk, sugar, cocoa and coffee.
2. Whisk eggs in another bowl until light yellow and pour into cream mixture
3. Transfer to Eric (ice cream maker) and follow the manufacturer’s instructions
4. In a gallon freezer bags smash thin mints until they meet your crumb-expectations (I like mine mostly crumb with a few cookie
whads
5. About 2 – 4 minutes before the mixture is done freezing pour in the thin mints.
6. Eat till your stomach bulges.

All right, already, I’ll go pack. I wonder what could make this process a little easier? Let’s just say I skipped the ice cream (gasp!) in favor of something else…

Have a good night! I’ll post tomorrow with pics of the new pad 😉

Keep smiling,
Kel

About mylifeissweet

I make ice cream, eat ice cream and then run. I love my yellow lab and look like my yellow lab, in Converse.
This entry was posted in ice cream, moving. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

